Find a book > Songbirds

Songbirds Phonics, by Julia Donaldson

Written by the author of The Gruffalo, Julia Donaldson, Songbirds Phonics have been created to support children who are learning to read, and are used in schools to teach phonics and inspire a love of reading.

The Songbirds Phonics series is a carefully levelled series designed to support children as they build their phonic knowledge and to encourage a love of stories.

The series features six graded levels, and uses the same systematic phonics progression used by teachers in school. Each level reflects a different age range:

  • Levels 1-3: age 4-5
  • Levels 4-6: age 5-6

In addition, there are a variety of kits, activity books and flashcards designed to help you develop your child’s reading skills in a fun and engaging way.

Story Collections

Delightful phonics stories for beginner readers, these story collections contain 6 stories in 1! *

Top Cat and Other Stories: Level 1+ *contains 12 stories
The Odd Pet and Other Stories: Level 2
The Ox and the Yak and Other Stories: Level 2
The Scrap Rocket and Other Stories: Level 3
Where is the Snail? And Other Stories: Level 3
Tadpoles and Other Stories: Level 4
My Cat and Other Stories : Level 4
Leroy and Other Stories : Level 5
Where Were You Bert? And Other Stories : Level 6

Flashcards and phonics kits

Phonics Games Flashcards

Buy on Amazon

Alphabet Games Flashcards

Buy on Amazon

Levels 1+ and 2: Get Started

Buy on Amazon

Activity books

Colourful activity books to help develop your child's phonic progression and introduce your child to writing in a fun and exciting way.

Phonics Activity Book 1
Phonics Activity Book 2
Phonics Activity Book 3
Phonics Activity Book 4
Phonics Activity Book 5
Phonics Activity Book 6
Phonics Activity Book 7
Phonics Activity Book 8

Julia Donaldson's top reading tips