Written by the author of The Gruffalo, Julia Donaldson, Songbirds Phonics have been created to support children who are learning to read, and are used in schools to teach phonics and inspire a love of reading

Which book is right for my child? Levelling explained

The Songbirds Phonics series is a carefully levelled series designed to support children as they build their phonic knowledge and to encourage a love of stories.

The series features six graded levels, and uses the same systematic phonics progression used by teachers in school. Each level reflects a different age range:

  • Levels 1-3: age 4-5
  • Levels 4-6: age 5-6

In addition, there are a variety of kits, activity books and flashcards designed to help you develop your child’s reading skills in a fun and engaging way.

Story Collections


Delightful phonics stories for beginner readers, these story collections contain 6 stories in 1!

Find out more >

Browse all story collections>

Activity Books

Songbirds_Phonics_Activity_Book Fun activity books that support phonics practice and help develop early reading skills. Each book includes stickers.

Find out more >

Browse all activity books>


Songbirds_Phonics_Flashcards An enjoyable and interactive way to practise letters and sounds.

Find out more >

Browse all flashcards>


Songbirds_Phonics_Kit The perfect introduction to Songbirds Phonics for beginner readers – books, reward stickers and a poster.

Find out more >

Print this page

Phonics Screening Check – help and support

Alongside great resources such as Read with Biff, Chip and Kipper and Songbirds, Oxford Owl also offers lots of useful advice and support, including Ruth Miskin's video guide to phonics .